Lab Director

Dr. Syed Ali Hassan


Assistant Professor
School of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
National University of Sciences and Technology
Bio sketch: Syed Ali Hassan received his Ph.D. in Electrical Engineering from Georgia Institute of Technology, Atlanta, USA in 2011. He received his MS Mathematics from Georgia Tech in 2011 and MS Electrical Engineering from University of Stuttgart, Germany, in 2007. He was awarded BE Electrical Engineering (highest honors) from National University of Sciences and Technology (NUST), Pakistan, in 2004. His broader area of research is signal processing for communications. Currently, he is working as an Assistant Professor at the School of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science (SEECS), NUST, where he is heading the IPT research group, which focuses on various aspects of theoretical communications. Prior to joining SEECS, he worked as a research associate at Cisco Systems Inc., CA, USA, where he was involved with the home networking business unit in devising efficient strategies for home networking. Dr. Hassan is a member of IEEE and IEEE Communications society, author/co-author of numerous IEEE conference and journal papers and a reviewer for many journals and transactions. He has organized sessions in IWCMC 2015, VTC 2015, Stemcom 2016 and WCNC 2016 among others. Dr. Hassan has chaired several sessions in international conferences and has served as a TPC member for IEEE Tencon 2012, IEEE ICET 2012, and IEEE IEISA 2012, IEEE PIMRC 2013, IEEE VTC 2013, WCSP 2014, MILCOM 2015, and so on.

Ph.D. Students:

Student’s Name
Research Topic
1 Ayesha Binte Saleem Spatial Modulation in Massive MIMO Systems
2 Sadaf Nawaz Massive MIMO overlay for Heterogeneous Networks
3 Adil Raja 5G mmWave Communications
4 Sara Shakeel Qureshi Massive MIMO Systems
5 Qamar Abbas Full Duplex Communications
6 Waseem Akhtar Non- Orthogonal Multiple Access in 5G

MS Students:

Student’s Name
Research Topic
1 Anam Yasir Underwater Communications
2 Asim Jan Stochastic Geometry in 5G
3 Karam Shehzad UAV Communications
4 Ahmed Kamal 5G Communications
5 Shah Zeb NOMA in 5G
6 Shahzeb Ahsan Collision Avoidance using Machine Learning
7 Hashim Khan Underwater sensor networks
8 Hemant Kumar Stochastic Modeling of OLA Networks
9 Sidra tul Muntaha Drone Communications in Beyond 5G Networks
10 Maira Imran SWIPT-based Cooperative Systems
11 Usman Haider CFO Searching in mmWave Networks
12 Anas Abrar Large-Scale Sensor Networks


Professional Developers:

Muhammad Shahmeer Omar:

Timing synchronization and MAC layer issues in cooperative communications.

Syed Ahsan Raza:

Relay selection and space-time coding algorithms for cooperative communications.


Graduate Students (MS)

Thesis Title
1 Mudasar Bacha Analysis of Linear Cooperative Networks Subject to Composite Shadowing-Fading April 2013
2 Asma Afzal A Stochastic Geometry Approach for the Analysis of Strip-Shaped Cooperative Networks July 2013
3 Rafay Iqbal Ansari Performance Analysis of an Opportunistic Large Array with Limited Node Participation July 2013
4 Quratulain Shafi Interference Analysis in Cooperative Linear Multi-Hop Networks Subject to Multiple Flows October 2013
5 Usman Javed SNR Estimation for Non-Coherent M-FSK Receivers in Rice Fading Environment May 2014
6 Syed Waqar Hassan Interference Management in OFDMA Femtocells May 2014
7 Rehan Zahid Reverse Frequency Allocation Scheme in Single Cell Downlink Heterogeneous Networks December 2014
8 Aamra Arshad SNR Estimation for non-coherent FSK-based Cooperative Networks in Rayleigh Fading January 2015
9 Muhammad Arslan Aslam Multi-Hop Multi-Source Network Coding January 2015
10 Muhammad Saad Zia Analysis of Massive MIMO Systems subject to Composite Shadowing Environment February 2015
11 Haroon Mazhar Analysis of Target Multi-paths in Passive Wi-Fi Radars March 2015
12 Zaka ul Mulk Analysis of Pilot Contamination in Very Large Scale MIMO Systems March 2015
13 Sidra Shaheen Syed Design of Randomized Space-Time Block Codes for Cooperative Strip-Shaped Networks April 2015
14 Atta ur Rahman Composite fading in Cooperative Heterogeneous Networks August 2015
15 Muhammad Bilal Haroon Cooperative Multi-hop Networks in the presence of Lognormal-Rice Fading October 2015
16 Nohman Javed UMTS and LTE-based Passive Multistatic Radars January 2016
17 Muhammad Ahsen Stochastic Geometry-based Analysis of Cooperative Multi- Networks January 2016
18 Junaid Abdullah Geometry optimization in WiFi-based Passive Radars February 2016
19 Sikander Afridi Spatial Modulation in Wireless Networks December 2016
20 Tauseef Mushtaq Massive MIMOs in the presence of K-fading December 2016
21 Hamnah Munir Game Theory-based capacity optimization of HetNets February 2017
22 Aneeqa Ijaz Reverse Frequency Allocation Algorithms for HetNets December 2016
23 Soma Qureshi Non orthogonal multiple access system for 5G networks February 2017
24 Sana Habib Initial Access in mmWave Systems April 2017
25 Anum Umer Secrecy Analysis in Massive MIMO Systems August 2017
26 Erum Mushtaq Quaternion Algebra for Space Time Block Coding August 2017
27 Muhammad Nasar Jamal Cooperative NOMA using STBC January 2018
28 Qanaita Mehmood 5G Full Duplex Wireless Communication July 2018
29 Farhan Nawaz Multiple Flows Scheduling in Dense M2M Networks July 2018
30 Syed Fahad Hassan Wireless Mediation in Industrial IoT Networks July 2018
31 Afshan Mehmood Social-Aware based D2D Networks July 2018
32 Syed Qasim Gillani Full-duplex and dual-slope path loss modeling in 5G July 2018

UG Students:

Year Students
2013 Ameera Taseer Yousufzai Sundus Mehdi Annum Javed Rana
2015 Muhammad Shahmeer Omar Syed Ahsan Raza Muhammad Ali Anjum
2015 Junaid Naeem Abdul Moeed Khalid Hassan Abid
2016 Saad Amin Shahzaib Faisal Muhammad Sohaib
2016 Azlan Shaukat Ramiz Hassan Siddiqui
2017 Uzair Akbar Haris Suhail Osama Waqar Bhatti
2017 Akber Raza Amna Aziz Syed M. Ali Qasim Naqvi
2017 Atif Salman Sheikh Shahzaib Qazi Zain Zafar
2017 Zain Kabir Usman Mahmood Khan
2018 Saad Iqbal Usman Iqbal
2018 Shehryar Aslam Alishba Khan Abeera Atif
2019 Ahsan Fahim Hassan Rasheed Sikander Azam
2019 Washma Nayer Hajra Bibi Sarah Basharat
2019 Usama Saeed Ussaid Akram
2019 Muhammad Moaz Awais Haider Adeel Hamdani
2019 Amina Shorish Momin Salman Warda Binte Masna Ramsha Zameer
2019 Bilal Isa Shaheer Raza Muhammad Suleman
2019 Shahzina Zubair Muhammad Umer
2019 Mahnoor Anjum Muhammad Bin Amir M. Usman Javed
2019 Fahad Zia Asjad Behzad Minahil Ashfaq